With the 2018 Shute Shield season just under two months away, we thought we’d take a look back over the history books to find out which club has won the most first grade premierships in the competition’s 95 year history

For the sake of the argument, we counted both Shute Shield and Tooheys New Cup premierships when both competitions were played from 2002-2006.

1. Randwick – 29 premierships

The Galloping Greens have produced more Wallabies than any other club in Australia and they’ve had plenty of on field success at Coogee Oval of their own. Between 1978 and 1996, Randwick incredibly won 14 of 19 first grade premierships and played in three of the remaining five grand finals.

2. Sydney University – 26 premierships

Winning isn’t a new habit for the Students. Sydney Uni won five of the first six Shute Shield premierships from 1923 to 1928. The club went through some tough times in the 90s, but became the dominant force in the competition soon after, winning the Tooheys New Cup in 2005 and 2006 and six of the next seven Shute Shield premierships through to 2013.

3. Gordon & Eastwood – 8 premierships

Gordon and Eastwood share third spot with eight premierships each. The Highlanders won their first flag in 1949 and backed it up with premierships in 1952, 1956 and 1958. Gordon also went on a run in the 90s, winning in 1993, 1996 and 1998. The Woodies didn’t win their first premiership until 1999 but rival Sydney Uni as the most successful club in recent times, with eight of the last 24 premierships.

5. Northern Suburbs & Eastern Suburbs – 7 premierships

Norths won their first premiership in 1933 and backed it up two years later in 1935. The Shoremen went on to play in five of seven deciders between 1959 and 1965, winning three times, then again in 1975, before waiting 41 long years to taste success again in 2016. Easts won their first premiership in 1931 and after winning three times in the 40s, were forced to wait 21 years for their next premiership in 1968. The Beasties last premiership came in 2003 when they beat Manly on the final weekend of the round robin competition to win the Shute Shield flag.

7. Manly – 6 premierships

Manly fans are a patient bunch but even they’re starting to get a little restless. The Marlins won four premierships in 1932, 1942, 1943 and 1950. They broke a 33-year drought to win the 1983 premiership then waited another 14 years to win again in 1997. Despite coming agonisingly close on a number of occasions, particularly in 2015, the Marlins now haven’t tasted premiership glory in 21 long years.

8. Parramatta – 3 premierships

The Two Blues haven’t had a whole lot of on field success in recent years, but in the 70s and 80s Parramatta were a premiership force. After losing two grand finals, the Two Blues won their first flag in 1977, then won again in 1985 and 1986.

9. Warringah – 2 premierships

The Rats love a big occasion and they’ve delivered on their day twice now. In 2005, Warringah won their first premiership in front of a packed house at Rat Park, then did it again in front of a bigger crowd at North Sydney Oval last year to cap a remarkable and emotional season.

10. Glebe-Balmain, Western Suburbs, Drummoyne and St George – 1 premiership

Although they no longer play in the Shute Shield, Glebe-Balmain (1925), Western Suburbs (1929), Drummoyne (1936) and St George (1957) all have one premiership each to their name.

Of the current Shute Shield clubs, Southern Districts, West Harbour and Penrith are the only sides yet to claim a flag.


By Rugby News | Feb 04 2018

Thanks goes to Rugby News for this article >>>...

Next Game

20 April 2019
Southern Districts
Forshaw Rugby Park
Latest Photos from Randwick Rugby Club
Contact Randwick Rugby